Winners of the Second “LRT Art” Competition Announced

The Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA), on its 37th anniversary, celebrates with optimistic illustrations with its ‘LRTArt 2017’ nationwide competition launched July 12, 2017 with the theme “LRT – Sasakyan Ko Sa Magandang Kinabukasan” (LRT – My Vehicle to a Better Future).

After three months of receiving entries from all over the country with the headship of Kapisanan ng mga Pintor sa Pilipinas (KPP) At Iba Pa Sining, Inc., winners for the competition have been announced and awarded at the Gala Night held at LRTA Social Hall, Pasig City.

According to LRTA Administrator Gen. Reynaldo I. Berroya, LRT Art aims to recognize Filipino artistry and to inform people that its train system not only bring its passengers to their destinations, but more importantly, into their journey towards their dreams and aspirations.

Ralph Allen Semilla’s “Walk In,” which was an oil on canvas was hailed as the grand winner of the main competition category. He received P300,000, a trophy and his painting will be displayed inside the LRTA Depot.

While Jheco Lorica’s “Pala-Lakbay Pa Rin” wins 1st prize at the Junior category and received P150,000. The 2nd and 3rd prize went to Bianca Dominique Verano and Brahm Daniel Verano who received P100,000 and P50,000 respectively.

(Left) Ralph Allen Semilla “Walk In” (Right) Jheco Lorica “Pala-Lakbay Rin Pala”

More than 400 emerging and professional artists joined the competition for both the Main Competition (for Filipinos at least 18 years of age) and Junior Category (for Filipinos aged 11-17 years old) but only 75 were able to surpass the judges’ keen criteria and fortunately made it to the finals.

Fifty Finalists were chosen for the Main competition who each received P5,000. Among the 50, Robert Tiano and Juan Aguasito Jr. triumphed the 2nd and 3rd prize and received P200,000 and P100,000 respectively.

Signing of works and an exhibit came subsequent to the announcement of winners. All winning entries including the finalists for both categories will be included in the proposed LRT Art Coffe Table Book which will be a commemorative souvenir for this year’s competition. Paintings which failed to garner an award will be sold.

KPP Atbp. Sining, Inc. monitored the strict compliance to the rules and regulations of the participating entries until its deadline of submission on October 10. Judges who composed of professional artists, critics, academicians and historians. These judges were present during the Awarding Ceremonies and Exhibit conducted. National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCAA) and Eye Candy Advertising Company also graced the event.

“It was quite surprising to see such an overwhelming number of participants for the competition. Although more and more youth are fascinated by technology, it’s good to know that Filipino’s passion for painting is still alive and blazing. It was a tough fight,” NCAA Visual Arts Head Egai Tulusan Fernandez, acting as the Head judge, expressed.

LRT Art 2017

This has been the second LRT Art competition conducted, having its first way back in 2009 where Mario Panis won for his oil canvass painting “Sakay Na Rin Po Kayo” anchored on the theme “LRT and Filipino Life.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s